One Man’s Opinion

I recently got an email from Steve S., from Sydney, Australia, that made our jaws drop a little and our spines get a bit straighter.

Naturally, I wanted to share it with all of you:

[The] Citibot is a piece of genius. As I assembled it for the first time, I was reminded of Apple products. The way that this kayak has been designed and built optimally captures the essence of simplicity, functionality, and aesthetic.

I am new to kayaking, so I don’t have a huge amount of experience of other boats to compare it with. However I really enjoy paddling this kayak, and I just love the way that it responds to each stroke. Increasingly it is becoming an extension of myself. Coupling that with its portability, i can’t imagine what more I would ask of a kayak.

So far I have mostly taken it on short paddles in Iron Cove Bay (Sydney Harbour). I am working up to using it as a commuting boat, since I live south of the harbour and work on the north side. It will afford me a refreshing 9km paddle each way. I just need to build up a feel for my abilities, and an eye for avoiding ferries and ships!

I’ve subsequently taken delivery of a GII EXP. My partner and I took it up to The Entrance this weekend and we had a fantastic time on Tuggerah Lake. We will be taking both boats up to Queensland this Christmas with our 16 year old daughter. We have 3200 kms to drive, which will afford many worthwhile paddling stopovers…

… Lastly, can I just congratulate you on what you have achieved with these products, and with that I would like acknowledge the company culture that you have clearly fostered over the years. I imagine that being part of the Folbot team must be a fulfilling life experience. What a wonderful contribution to humanity!

Thanks, Steve. Wow… we really appreciate it.

David A.

Leave a Reply

