Oh Canada!

While Folbots are not heavily used in the Winter Olympics (although Joe Jacobi, the Executive Director of USA Canoe/Kayak suggested on Twitter that it would be good to use them in a halfpipe event — you can follow Joe at @JoeJacobi), we all had such a good time watching that we wanted to express our thanks to Vancouver and Canada for being such fantastic hosts.

As a dual citizen of both the US and Canada, I had lots of rooting interests (how ’bout that hockey game?). But in the end, as usually happens, we were all winners — with the world coming together to celebrate our common interests rather than fighting about our differences.

Thanks for the fun and the memories Vancouver.

David A.

2 thoughts on “Oh Canada!

  1. Great thoughts, Dave. These Games represented everything we want to believe about the Games – amazing human performance, sportsmanship, risk, fair-play and inclusion to name a few. I’m sure we’ll come up with a few more breakfast in Madison!!

  2. My Sentiments Exactly!

    I, too, have roots in Canada, so the Olympics were a nightly tradition at our home. My mother was from Newfoundland and my father was from Louisiana, though his heart always seemed to be planted farther North. I was amazed that I remembered each and every word to the Canadian National Anthem, even though I’ve not heard them since I was a child. Some things you just never forget!

    I don’t guess I need to say that Facebook was flaming with comments back and forth over that hockey game, but as I told my fun-living (to say the least) relatives, “I win no matter who wins!”

    The only thing better would have been to be present in person with my Folbot there with me!

Leave a Reply

